• The Clear Creek Amana Foundation is seeking nominations for the 2023 Hall of Fame award. Nominations are due September 1, 2023.

    The Foundation's Hall of Fame recognizes individuals for their service and contributions in the areas of volunteerism, professional or educational success, and/or outstanding support for the District or Community. Since 2001, the Foundation has inducted 48 individuals into the Hall of Fame.

    The nomination should include:

    • Name and address of nominee
    • School graduated from and year
    • Note if person is deceased
    • Why should this person be considered for this honor?
    • Add any information that applies:
      • Volunteer contribution
      • Education success
      • Professional success
      • Support to the School District or Foundation

    Please send your nomination by e-mail to or by mail to: P.O. Box 30, Oxford, Iowa 52322 for consideration.

    This year’s award winners will be announced during a presentation at one of the home varsity football games this fall.

    A list of past recipients can be found below on this webpage.

Dan and Karen Schaapveld, 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Dan retired in 2009 after 35 years of service with the Sixth Judicial District Department of Correctional Services as a Probation and Parole Officer.  During his employment, he received numerous awards and commendations.  In 2002, he received the distinguished Humanitarian of the Year Award for his countless hours providing me residing at the Hope House facility in Coralville with community service work and helping them to learn trade skills by assisting with the construction of the new (at the time) CCA weight training facility.

    Karen retired in 2016 after 42 years of service with the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.  She served various nursing roles from the Operating Room, Catheterization Laboratory and Ambulatory Surgery Center.  The majority of her time was spent in the Perioperative Nursing Division specializing in cardiac and transplant surgeries.  She received numerous Nurse Excellence awards during her career and a she assisted with the first heart transplant to take place in the State of Iowa in 1985.

    Dan and Karen were both very active with various school organizations, including several officer positions.  Their involvement included:  CCA Booster Club (1996-2009); Post Prom Committee (2002-2003 and 2006-2007); FAME – Fine Arts and Music (1996-2009); and Oxford Little League.  Karen also served as President of the Parent Teacher Association at the Oxford Elementary (approximately 1990-1999).

    Dan served on the CCA school board from 2000-2009, including serving several terms as President.  During his tenure and while serving as President, he and the entire board anticipated dramatic district growth.  He was instrumental with the planning and execution of the bond issues and for the construction of the current high school in Tiffin as well as the first new elementary school (North Bend Elementary) in North Liberty.  He assisted with the middle school auditorium expansion and addition, weight training facility improvement, and Pacha Track rocking/grading improvements.

    Dan and Karen had two children – Gabe and Stephanie.  Gabe was a 2003 CCA graduate.  He and his wife, Elizabeth, have two children, Jordan and Macy.  They reside in North Liberty.  Stephanie was a 2007 CCA graduate.  She and her husband, Jake, have two children, Bailey and Willa.  They recently moved back to the CCA district after residing in the state of Washington.

    Dan’s life ended way too soon after losing his battle with Acute Myeloid Leukemia in July 2013, but Dan and Karen’s commitment to their community and the school district will not be forgotten.

    The Clear Creek Amana Community School Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.  All donations are tax-deductible.  The mission of the foundation is to partner with the community to build awareness and financial support to enhance the educational experience for all Clear Creek Amana students.  For more information about the foundation or to make a tax-deductible charitable contribution, please contact the foundation at or by mail at P.O. Box 30, Oxford, Iowa 52322.

    Current foundation officers and board members include: Jeff Ritchie, President; Brittany Whitmore, Vice President, Jessica Kukuzke, Treasurer; Braden Smith, Secretary; TJ Croco; Karolyn Trumpold, Jack O’Rourke, Marcy Pease and Andrea Chambers.  Emeritus board members include: Larry Pacha and Bev Seelman.

    The Clear Creek Amana Foundation Hall of Fame was created in 2001 by the Clear Creek Amana School Board and the Clear Creek Amana Foundation Board of Directors to honor those who have made significant and lasting contributions to our district and communities.

Clear Creek Amana Foundation Hall of Fame

Board and Contact Information

  • Mission:  The Clear Creek Amana Community School Foundation partners with the community to build awareness and financial support to enhance the educational experience for all Clear Creek Amana students. The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.  All donations are tax-deductible.

    Jack O’Rourke, President
    Brittney Whitmore, Vice President
    Braden Smith, Secretary
    Jessica Kukuzke, Treasurer
    Bailey Abben, Board member
    Karolyn Trumpold, Board member
    Jessica Bandy, Board member
    Andrea Chambers, Board member
    Andi Miller, Board member

    The Clear Creek Amana Community School Foundation can be reached at:

    Clear Creek Amana Community School Foundation
    PO Box 30
    Oxford, IA 52322

    CCA Foundation Website