Return to Headlines

Equity Message from the School Board and Administration

Letter To our CCA students, parents, staff and community,

At the CCA board meeting on Wednesday July 15th our community came out and spoke to us with honest, raw and passionate examples of racism and discrimination within the CCA district.  We would like to sincerely thank each individual who chose to share those personal stories, so the board, administration and staff can begin to develop all the supports needed to eliminate racism and discrimination within our school and community.  As difficult as it was to listen to the hurt endured, that pain and honesty will be used as a catalyst for true change, not just words on paper.

At the CCA board meeting on July 29th an action item will be included to approve an advisory committee to the board.  That committee will help to tackle the requests stated at the board meeting, which include, a comprehensive Equity Policy, diversity and bias training for all who choose to be part of our CCA staff. Lastly, but most importantly the committee will help guide our path and commitment to this work and help to reset our course as we pursue this task.  Mistakes will be made along the way and we need to continue to be honest, but also continue to celebrate when we have made true impacts within our school community.

We will also have a timeline available after our August 5th work session, which will outline the time frame for each step of the process we need to develop and complete.

As we move through this process we recognize there will be more pain and more need for accountability and we intend to see this through until we have what our students need to feel safe and supported while under our watch as a CCA district.


School Board Members
Jennifer Mooney, President
Matt McAreavy, Vice-President
Bob Broghammer
Nikki Knapp
Eileen Schmidt
Kathy Swenka
Jeff Tackaberry
CCA Building Administration
Tim Kuehl
Matt Leeman
Barb Hunt
Angi Hoyer
Ben Macumber
Kirk Ryan
Mark Moody
Mike Potter
Brad Fox
Jody Bandy
Brian Williams
Stacy Stull
Brenda Parker